What’s better than cookies that just came out of the oven? Tahini cookies that just came out of the oven.

Two things inspired this discovery:

1. I love peanut butter cookies but they are high in fat and calories.

2. I had tahini in the house I needed to do something with.

Lately we’ve been making homemade everything, including our own hummus, which requires tahini for that nutty taste. Tahini is basically sesame paste and has the consistency of natural peanut butter (not the processed stuff like Jiffy). Anyway, we made our hummus out of an organic tahini that I found in the local organic grocery, and I was worried that it would go bad quickly if we didn’t act fast. So I headed to allrecipes.com to find something to do with it.

First, the husband made more hummus, because it’s yummy to snack on with bread and veggies.

I found this Tahini Cookie recipe which I had all the ingredients for and set to work. I halved the recipe, because really – who needs 50 cookies for two people?

The end result is wonderful:

What is delightful about this cookie is that it has a crumbly texture on the outside with a soft and melt-y center. The recipe halved said the turnout would be 25 cookies, but I made around 16 because I like larger ones.

I also added honey to the batter because when I added the flour it started to look a little dry and upon taste it wasn’t quite as sweet as I like my cookies.

Nonetheless, they have the flavor of tahini and remind me so much of my favorite peanut butter cookies that I am thrilled at how they turned out.

The other upside? Tahini, unlike peanut butter, is good for you. I’m not saying to eat an entire pot of it in one sitting. Sesame has fat but it’s the good fat, and on top of that it contains phytoestrogens which have antioxidant and anti-cancer properties. (Contrary to popular belief) It also contains an aminoacid that the body can’t produce and needs to help fight cholesterol. Sesame also has a high content of iron, calcium, magnesium and vitamin B1, all especially brought to the forefront in ground tahini.

“Healthy” cookies! What could be better? Of course, besides tahini the other main ingredients are butter and sugar, but these could easily be replaced with honey (often used in Middle Eastern cooking anyway) and oil. In fact I plan to try that next time.

A plus was that the batter contains no egg, which means I got to lick the bowl risk free.

Just a word of caution: Make sure that you let these cookies sit out and cool for AT LEAST 10 minutes before even touching them. If they don’t have a chance to harden they will crumble and fall apart. I made the mistake of poking one with my finger and it almost turned to crumbs and dust right there.

If you’re looking for a yummy alternative to peanut butter cookies, these are for you. I’ll definitely be making them again.

