What did I do this weekend? Rien de grave or rather, nothing serious.

I taught on Saturday morning. I take the boat in to Toulon and on a sunny spring day, it really is a delightful ride, almost making up for having to teach on a Saturday morning.

I ran 14 kilometers this morning. It was hot, but I usually go early to avoid the heat and the crowds and the traffic. Running along the shoreline in the morning is wonderful. Mist rises off of the mountains and underneath the soft narration of whatever audiobook I happen to be listening to -Anna Karenina right now – is the sound of the waves lapping against the sand.

I made bread from my favorite recipe: Garlic Rosemary Foccacia. Although this time I didn’t use rosemary, but the basil I have growing on my balcony. I would have taken a photo but the husband and I ate most of the bread already. It’s that hard to resist.

I made gazpacho. If you’ve never made gazpacho, it’s SUPER easy. I don’t even measure.

  • Around 5 tomatoes
  • Around 2 onions (one white, one yellow)
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 cucumber
  • Garlic to taste (If you’re me, you add A LOT) I won’t even tell you how much.
  • Tomato juice – I usually buy a liter and use about half.
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Herbs of your choice (basil, rosemary, herbs de provence)
  • Olive oil which I poured in until I thought it was enough. Maybe ¼ of a cup?

Chop the vegetables. They don’t even have to look nice. Just make them small. Why?

 Because then you put everything into a food processor and process the heck out of it. Stir. Taste. Add something (or not). Process some more.

 Pour into a bowl and put it in the fridge for an hour or two. Serve with bread. Maybe some garlic basil foccacia bread.

 

The husband and I climbed up a tower on the harbor of our town. We could see the whole town and the boat I take to work every morning.

  I didn’t think it would be this pretty because our town, up until about 5 years ago wasn’t the greatest. Up until 8 years ago Toulon wasn’t the greatest either. But it’s coming.

After lunch I laid in bed watching old reruns of Unsolved Mysteries. My guilty pleasure.

So it’s been a pretty lazy weekend. In two weeks, the husband will turn 30. Any thoughts of what to cook him? If you were a French man having an important birthday, what would you want to eat?

I have plenty of balcony-raised herbs to cook any type of meat known to man. And veggies too. Luckily they are out of reach of the cat, who seems to have a thing for leafy-greens. It’s going to be an herbal summer.

