Have I ever mentioned how much I love vegetables? I love vegetables. I love them more than any other food. Cheese is a close second. Then bread. I could eat nothing but vegetables forever. They’re so versatile, so satisfying.

And cheese. I’m blessed to live in a country where cheese is a national treasure.

I also love days off from work. I have no idea why today is a holiday in France, they’re even wishing people a bon quinze août but I’ll take it and use it to make something yummy.

Pizza Primavera. It’s almost the end of summer and primavera means springtime – or so I’m told – but hey, it’s good, it’s cheesy and it’s full of veggies.

I used an aged Pecorino, which with all due respect for France, is Italian. Made from sheep’s milk, laced with salt and huge chunks of pepper. You don’t need a sauce for this pizza or any extra spices. This pizza is just that good.

Roasted red peppers, broccoli, peas, onion, garlic, tomato and zucchini.

I made my own pizza dough, which wasn’t difficult. Easier than bread.

But rolling it out was. I got an oblong rectangle rather than a circle. It was my first attempt. I have another pizza dough sitting in my freezer for next time. I wanted to toss it in the air and spin it around, but given my hand-eye coordination I could see that being a disaster.

Bake your pizza dough at 250°C for about 5-7 minutes before you put the toppings on it. I think this is necessary, because with the oil of the cheese, the water of the veggies – especially the tomato – will keep the dough from cooking fully other wise.

Put your toppings on. Drizzle with olive oil. Bake for another 12-15 minutes until the cheese is melted, the vegetables are cooked and the crust is golden brown.

Doesn’t it look amazing?

I sat on the balcony with a glass of rosé and enjoyed myself while reading The Dispossessed by Ursula K LeGuin.

A note on salt: if you use aged pecorino or aged Parmesan DO NOT salt your pizza when you put the toppings on it. Seriously. The cheese is already incredibly salty and will infuse into the vegetables and the dough.

I’m going to write for the rest of the day. I’m going to read. I’m going to have a dame blanche cookie and Earl Grey tea. The husband is sick. Wish him well so that he can enjoy my pizza for dinner tonight.

This week I have to go to the town hall to renew my titre de séjour. Wish me luck. It’s always a drama.

