I’ve almost hit 68,000 words and I’m close to the halfway point of the story. Tonight the husband is cooking porc au caramel with some Asian noodles and I will take the time not spent cooking, writing. I’m still hoping to finish by the end of the month, but it’s going to take quite a bit of pushing over the next twelve days to get there. Thanksgiving dinner for my in-laws is coming next Saturday, and I haven’t even finalized the menu yet-

Well, anyway…

Autumn has officially arrived in Provence. It always takes a while.  I know plenty of other people ruminate on autumn. For me it’s the light that is the most magical. It’s golden light that illuminates everything.

Unfortunately, I definitely don’t have the time to enjoy it except on my morning run when I’m too busy trying not to freeze.

This recipe has been all over Foodbuzz, a site of which I’m only  minor contributor. I looked at this recipe by Juls, but didn’t use her cheeses as I had a limited selection at the organic market.

Roast your pumpkin at 180°C for 30 minutes. Throw in a few cloves of garlic for good measure. Everything should be very soft and squashable. (I don’t think that’s a word.) Peel your pumpkin and garlic and set aside.

Meanwhile cook your macaroni. And prepare your cheese sauce. I used Munster and a generous handful of shredded Emmenta. In a medium sauce pan, pour in some light cream, a small pat of butter, add your cheeses and let them melt down, stirring quite a bit in order to be sure it doesn’t get burnt. Add your pumpkin and mash and stir into a thick sauce.

Pour macaroni into a greased dish, add the sauce on top and stir together until it’s evenly blended. Instead of breadcrumbs, I added bits of toasted bread. Barely more than a handful, just enough to add some crunch.

Put in the oven for another 10 minutes to reheat and get a little brown on top. Voila!

The sharp, strong Munster contrats nicely with sweetness of the pumpkin. It worked well, which was a relief because I wasn’t exactly sure how well they would go when I was choosing my cheese. But I figured if someone else put blue cheese in this recipe then Munster would be a safe bet and it was. It’s warm and filling and a great autumn twist on the old classic. Perfect comfort food.

