I never thought I’d say this. Actually, I never even considered that this would be something I’d think of never saying. But here it is:
For my next birthday, I want a spice rack.


Look at where they are now! In a box at the bottom of my counter, all messed up and thrown around and no matter how hard I try I can’t keep them organized. My poor spices. They need love too.

How do you turn the left into the right?


    I love granola. I can eat and have eaten an entire box in 1 go. But even organic, store-bought granola is LOADED with extra sugars and extra calories and a lot of things I don’t need. So making my own granola was something I wanted to try – once I stopped obsessing over it and eating entire boxes.
That moment has come. I have turned plain rolled oats into granola. And I’m proud of it.
It’s not the most successful, but who cares. It’s mine. My own recipe and everything.
Ok, so it’s not totally my own. I took ideas from other people but the basic idea of granola seems to be do whatever you want with in reasonable granola rules of stickiness and sweetness. I can do that.

  • 1 ¼ cups rolled oats
  • ¼ cup whole almonds, unsalted
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 4 dried apricots
  • 5 dates
  • 2 tablespoons dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 170°C.

Put your almonds in a blender and blend on the pulse setting until roughly chopped. In a large bowl combine your oats and the almonds together.


In a small saucepan add tahini, honey, and sesame oil and heat over medium high heat, stirring until blended. Add immediately to the dry ingredients and stir with a spoon to mix together.

In a low baking pan, or I guess you can use a baking sheet, pour your mixture onto the pan and press to flatness. Bake for about 12 minutes.


In the meantime, chop and pit your dates, chop your apricots. Ready your cranberries.

Take the mixture out of the oven, stir in your apricots, dates and cranberries. Bake for another 8 minutes. Doesn’t it look pretty even before it’s all stirred together?


Remove from oven and let cool before eating.
According to the recipe creator on livestrong.com a ¼ cup of this had 80 calories. About half of the calorie count in the store-bought stuff.  Maybe it’s not a crunchy as it could be. Maybe it’s not as well cooked or as clumpy. It’s my first batch and DAMNIT, it’s fabulous.

The tahini mixed with honey makes this granola sweet and nutty at the same time. Way better than peanut butter, because sesames have that extra lip-smacking taste to them that mix so well with dates and apricots (and now cranberries). The almonds are mild and give that extra crunch so necessary in granola.

Enjoy as a snack after an eight mile run. Or way after, since I made this at 5pm and my run was at 10am.

